Monday, March 14, 2011

Shortlist! SHORTlist!


The Manitoba Writers’ Guild and the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers are pleased to announce the Manitoba Book Awards shortlists.

The awards will be presented at the Manitoba Book Awards gala, on Sunday April 17th at the Centre Culturel Franco-Manitobain and hosted by Catherine Hunter. Cocktails are at 7:00 p.m., with the ceremony beginning at 8:00 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

The shortlists and recipients are selected by a variety of juries, comprised of writers, publishers and other book industry personnel from across Canada.

And the nominees are...

Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry/Prix Lansdowne de poésie
Attenuations of Force by Lori Cayer, published by Frontenac House
Clockfire by Jonathan Ball, published by Coach House Books
Hump by Ariel Gordon, published by Palimpsest Press

Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book
Black Bottle Man by Craig Russell, published by Great Plains Teen Fiction
Broken Circle: The Dark Legacy of Indian Residential Schools by Theodore Fontaine, published by Heritage House Publishing
Gaze by Keith Cadieux, published by Quattro Books
High Speed Crow by Sheila McClarty, published by Oberon Press
Hump by Ariel Gordon, published by Palimpsest Press

* * *

For the rest of the awards - there are twelve in total - see the MWG site.


Anonymous said...

Best of luck Ariel!
Craig Russell

Ariel Gordon said...

Thanks, Craig! How goes it?

Julie K said...

Go, Ariel!! Yay, you!

Debbie Strange said...

Wow - two nominations! Congratulations, Ariel -
"sing yourself"...